Loved by everyone because of the great atmosphere. Famed throughout Ireland for its thatched roof, open fires and rustic charm, its traditional music sessions have become the thing of legend. Conway’s Bar is the oldest & nicest bar in the heritage town of Ramelton or Rãth Mealtain, which was once apparently an important port . Beautifully picturesque, with lots of 17th & 18th century buildings, it’s situated at the point where the mouth of the River Lennon, flows into Lough Swilly, and is around 12km northeast of Letterkenny. The BBC filmed the 1995 television production The Hanging Gale here, set during the 1846 famine, indeed there are many pictures of the filming inside this exceptionally cosy pub. Conway’s Bar first opened its doors to the public in 1850. For much of its early life it was little more than the owners kitchen! Most of the 20th century it was run by Mrs. Conway. Following her death its ownership left the Conway family but the name remains. In the year 2001 it was bought by Edward McDaid and joined the McDaid Drink stable . On the 15th of December 2008, McDaids launched the newest arm of the company, when Conway’s Off-Sales opened its doors beside the pub. In 2010 the bar was extended with another cosy guestroom and even more significant, with a beer garden at the rear with another bar, widescreen TV, a stage for live music/disco, fire place and barbeque. In this year, it also got its new thatched roof.
Gallery
Comments & Reviews
No reviews yet.
Sign in to leave a comment or review.
Sign in