Gibney’s Pub is a great traditional Irish pub with a large beer garden and Sports Bar to the rear of the pub. One of Dublin’s leading pubs since it first took over in 1937. Located in the seaside village of Malahide, just ten miles north of Dublin city centre, Gibney’s is unique in that it has all the charm you’d expect from a local village pub whilst also offering nightly entertainment throughout our various bars and lounges. The Malahide air and Gibney’s beverages are a powerful combination. Powerful enough to bring you back again and again to one of Dublin’s great pubs. This fascinating and authentic pub is located just nine miles from the capital on the north coast of Dublin.The coastal seatown of Malahide is today properly celebrated as the mecca of Dublin social and leisure activities but some fifty years back it was merely a country village surrounded by pasture and cornland. And when the Gibney family first arrived here on 6 December 1937 (in plenty of time to catch the Christmas drinks trade!) they were entering what was essentially a ‘spit and sawdust pub’ with a back yard that contained an apple garden and a pungent-smelling piggery. For the Gibney family, who have been five generations in the Dublin licensed trade, this may have appeared an unusual acquisition, but it continued the family migration trend northwards towards the coast. At the time James Joseph Gibney paid 2,500 pounds for this pub, he also owned the Royal Hotel in Howth and the famous Phoenix Bar in Parkgate Street – the once – famous refuge of Michael Collins. It was here that the young Jack Gibney learned to ploy the wares of the licensed trade before moving to Malahide. His father, James Joseph, was regarded as something of an entrepreneur in the trade and had also owned the Abbey Tavern in Howth, which he sold in 1925. His forebears were also conspicuous in the Dublin trade, having served at Bow Lane Street, the Haymarket in Smithfield, where they ran a bakery, grocery and eating house, and also at Benburb Street. In 1937, and for many years beforehand, the Malahide pub had been known as the Abercorn Tavern – the name which had been adopted by Henry Barton Cooke on 6 June 1890, when he acquired the pub from James O’Hara and the ground landlord, the Right Honourable Richard Hogan Baron Talbot De Malahide. By 1917 Henry Cooke was suffering financial distress and the premises became partly invested in Ormond Quay Auctioneer and Valuer, Andrew Keogh, who had forwarded Henry some 400 pounds.
Gallery
Comments & Reviews
Average rating: 5.0/5 (1 reviews)
Sign in to leave a comment or review.
Sign inWilliam
Test