At Harry Byrne’s we have always been conscious of our great heritage, and we are very proud of the fact that 1998 marked our bi-centenary. We are fortunate that we have been able to trace our history back to its humble origins as a Coaching Inn in 1798. Along the way our industry has seen great innovations, and our country has witnessed great changes.
Now, as in ages past, though perhaps not as important historically, the pub remains central to the Irish way of life. We at Harry Byrne’s have a unique history and a unique heritage. We take comfort in the fact that we have always been faithful to the ethos of the traditional pub despite the obvious temptations, over the years, to modernise. To have done so would have been an act of cultural sabotage resulting in the desecration of a Heritage’ pub.
This gem of antiquity, which is descended from an 18th century Coaching Inn, opened its doors to the Dublin public in 1798. The first licensee, David Hallisey, acquired this site as a consequence of the unsafe travelling conditions on the Howth Road, `which enjoyed a notorious reputation for the four miles that it disappears from the shore at Clontarf until it reappears again beyond Raheny.